Thursday, April 12, 2007

Goooo NATS!

To put it bluntly, my baseball team stinks. They are worse than, well, anything I can think of to make a graphic analogy. Their record right now is 1-8. It's sad. But on the bright side, they don't stink as bad as the Orioles did in 1988 when Cal Ripken, Sr. was the manager and the O's went 0-21 in their first 21 games. After the first six games, the O's fired Ripken and hired--you guessed it--Frank Robinson, who managed--yes that's right--last year's Nats. Coincidence? I think not. Poor Robbie took that terrible luck from the O's and left it with the Nats.

So here's what I'm thinking: the Nats need to keep losing. If they start to win a game here or there, they become mediocre and that's boring. If they keep losing and keep losing BAD, it becomes interesting; it becomes newsworthy. They become those lovable losers, those wonderful underdogs who we desperately care about and want to win, but who just can't do it. They become (dare I make the comparison?) the Redskins.
My boyfriend says I have finally lost my childlike idealism and am thinking like a true jaded sports fan. Me, I'm just trying to think positive.
"Well, at least they're consistent," she responded when asked about her crummy team.

I say if we're gonna go down, let's go down in flames! Let's not just be bad, let's be historically bad. Let's not just stink, let's stink worse than last week's garbage! Let's see how few runs we can score! Let's see how many opposing pitchers we can give no hitters! How many other teams can we put in the record books? Someone's got to lose, why not us? Boost the egos of those other "bad" teams! Let them know what it feels like to be winners for a change! We'll raise the morale of the entire National League! Is your team feeling bad about their record? Just think, it could always be worse: you could be the Nationals.