Tuesday, May 29, 2007

Meet Me in St. Louis

is what the boyfriend said...hah hah...musical theater humor!
As some of you may know, I spent this past weekend in St. Louis. Boyfriend was there with the Nationals, so I got to go to three (count 'em THREE) Nationals-Cardinals games. I had the time of my life! SOOO much fun, even if there were two huge rain delays. But we won 2 out of 3 and took the series! Go Nats!
We arrived Friday morning and met up with another guy named Mark (the Nationals' media relations guy) and his girlfriend Sophie who I met at Spring Training. The Marks wnet off to work and Sophie and I headed down to The Arch. It's a very cool monument if you have never been. It is 660 feet tall and to get to the top you have to ride this elevator-ferris wheel-laundry dryer-contraption which was neat, but definitely not for the claustrophobic. Many cool views were seen from the top.
We tooled around the city for a while after that (stopped by the International Bowling Hall of Fame and Museum) and changed clothes for the ballgame. We had such a good time! We totally hit it off and found out we have a lot in common, which was really great since we were basically stuck with each other for the next two days and it would have stunk to find out we had nothing to discuss.
Friday night's game was very cool with excellent comp seats. We sat next to these guys who were Cards fans, so we, of course, we heckled them the entire game and left quite happily when the Nationals won! I ate a snow cone and nachos. We did the customary lap around the stadium in the middle of the game to check things out. I must say, Busch Stadium is really nice! The first thing that impressed me was how FULL it was! They had an attendance of 44,000. That's, like, two and a half Nats games. We have pathetic attendance at RFK. The stadium is also only a year old so everything looks new and clean, again unlike at RFK, which is about 100 years old. They have a Build-a-Bear Workshop where you can make your own stuffed Cardinal. How cute. They also have vending machines to buy sodas for, get this, $4.75! I thought the $1.25 at work was bad...RFK has better snow cones, though. The ice is shaved finer.
It's funny, I realized that I have never been to a ball game and cheered for the visiting team. Cheering for the Yankees (anywhere) doesn't count, because no matter where you are, with the exception of maybe Boston, the Yankee fans will outnumber the home team fans, so you still get those loud cheers. It was SO weird to be one of, maybe, 10 people clapping and cheering when the Nats scored or got a good hit. Definitely a different experience. I feel like I've been to an "away" hockey game, but I can't think of where, when or why I would have gone.
But we won Friday night, so that was cool. I got to explain baseball stuff to Sophie, which was also fun. Usually I'm the one who doesn't know stuff, so I felt very smart and informed.
Afterwards we went to this bar called Shannon's which is famous for being a Cardinals hang out. We didn't see any players, but our waiter looked like Jason Veritek. Sophie left around midnight and I waited for Mark and then he and I walked back to the hotel. The weather was beautiful after a quick afternoon sprinkle.