Tuesday, July 11, 2006

How Do You Spell Geek? R-A-C-H-E-L

So, I have come to the conclusion that I am a major geek, a total dork, an utter and hopeless nerd.
Case in point: I have recently gotten really into baseball. I went to two games about a month ago with my family (my dad and sister are die hard Yankee fans and my dad is an all-around baseball nut), and am good friends with the Nationals beat writer for The Washington Times. Plus, my new roommate is a dyed-in-the-wool Red Sox fan (this creates some good natured angst with my dad, but it's cool. I've known the guy since pre-school). So, I've been watching a lot of baseball on TV, talking a lot of baseball and am currently reading The Last Night of the Yankee Dynasty by Buster Olney, which I am enjoying immensely.
So, I decided that I'm going to read more baseball books, because I have always said that I love baseball media: TV, movies, books, etc. So, what book catches my interest first? The Physics of Baseball. Yup. Pick the geekiest, nerdiest book on the sport out there and that's the one I pick to buy. The other one I really want is called Baseball Hacks which is about ways to compile baseball statistics. I am the ultimate nerd! Why did this book interest me? Because my first thought was, "Oooh...I could use this to create a giant Access database full of baseball stats! What a wonderful use of my new Access skills!"
I am such a geek.